It makes you feel like your head is going to explode

So somewhere recently I stumbled on this article & shared it on farcebook where the discussion came to this…

discuss - explode
“It makes you feel like your head is going to explode.”

I’m sure any Aspie who experiences sensory hypersensitivity knows the feeling.

I couple of nights after this post & discussion, while I was in the space between bed & sleep, I was reflecting on this & had what I’ll call a mini-epiphany.

I’ve been aware of auditory hypersensitivity for as long as I can remember. It’s never been a problem & the awareness has mostly come of hearing [very real] things that others don’t, such as the cat pawing the door to be let in. For the last 8 years I’ve been a volunteer at the Wooodford Folk Festival where I often experience something that I’m now seeing differently. I’ll be walking through the festival when I come across a dense, noisy throng of people flowing along the path, usually people going to that night’s performances at the festival amphitheatre. In an instant I’m feeling like my head is going to explode, a bunch of my anxiety buttons get hit all at once, & I’m desperately looking for somewhere quiet where I can hide a little while.

I’d never thought of this as having anything to do with auditory hypersensitivity but in that reflective moment I thought perhaps that’s what it is. Looking at it like that I come to thinking the next time that happens, & it will, in just a few weeks time because I’m signed up for the coming festival, I can tell myself that I know what’s happening & calmly proceed until the throng & I part company. That thought alone makes the next time I bump into the amphi crowd in full flow seem to be a whole lot easier.

About Pedro fp

A photographer; a cyclist; a lover of life, the earth, bicycles, people, cycle–sport, music, food gardening & beauty.
This entry was posted in Being Aspergers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

